Past Presidents of Council



1676 George Drummond
1703-1713 William Dundas of Kincavel
1713-1734 David Drummond
1735-1745 Sir Alexander MacDonald of MacDonald KT
1746-1765 George Lockhart of Carnwath
1765-1767 John, 7th Earl of Galloway KT
1768-1778 William St Clair of Roslin
1778-1783 The Hon Charles Hope Weir
1783-1809 Sir James Pringle of Stichill Bt
1809-1815 Dr Nathaniel Spens
1816-1821 Alexander, 8th Lord Elibank
1821-1822 George, 9th Earl of Dalhousie GCB
1823-1824 Thomas, 7th Earl of Elgin and 11th Earl of Kincardine PC
1825-1830 George, 9th Earl of Dalhousie GCB
1830-1838 Walter Francis, 5th Duke of Buccleuch and 7th Duke of Queensberry KG PC
1838-1848 Sir John Hope of Craighall and Pinkie, Bt
1848-1860 James Andrew, 1st Marquess of Dalhousie KT
1860-1876 Henry, 3rd Viscount Melville GCB
1876-1884 Schomberg Henry, 9th Marquess of Lothian KT PC
1884-1903 John, 10th Earl of Stair KT
1904-1921 Alexander, 6th Lord Balfour of Burleigh KT PC GCMG GCVO
1921-1929 John Charles, 7th Duke of Buccleuch and 9th Duke of Queensberry KT GCVO
1929-1945 The Hon Sir Hew Dalrymple KCVO
1945-1951 Charles Cospatrick, 13th Earl of Home KT
1951-1962 Walter John, 8th Duke of Buccleuch and 10th Duke of Queensberry KT PC
1962-1973 George, 12th Earl of Haddington KT MC TD
1973 John, 13th Earl of Stair KCVO MBE
1974-1988 Ronald, 2nd Baron Clydesmuir KT CB MBE TD
1988-1996 Sir Hew Hamilton-Dalrymple of North Berwick Bt KCVO
1996-2001 John, 9th Duke of Buccleuch
2001-2004 David, 13th Earl of Airlie
2004-2013 Major The Hon Sir Lachlan Maclean Bt CVO
2013-2023 James Ramsay, 17th Earl of Dalhousie GCVO DL

Back to the History Index.